Reviews



Alittle gem - Rating 5/5

Claire and Boz were perfect hosts, they were very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was always hot, it looked good and was amazing. Our room was lovely and the bed was very comfortable. Claire and Boz made us feel as if we were at home, the Braemar is a little gem and we would definitely call on them again.

Reviewer:Jon B | Tue 3rd Dec 2019 | 22 hours ago


Best poached eggs - Rating 5/5

Only joking, but Ian or Boz as he prefers to be called does cook a mean poached egg. Breakfast was perfect every morning. I was made to feel more than welcome and I don’t think anything would have been to much trouble if I’d asked. Thanks again Boz and Claire, I’m sure I’ll be back, all best wishes.Ian.

Reviewer:Ian S | Thu 14th Nov 2019 | 2 weeks ago


Welcoming - Rating 4/5

We received a nice warm welcome and room was clean, perfectly adequate. Won’t be booking through booking.com though as we had to pay upfront and were unable to claim back for our missing (sick) relative.

Reviewer:Lindsey F | Thu 7th Nov 2019 | 3 weeks ago


IOW Short Break - Rating 5/5

A short 3 night break with my family. We stayed at The Braemar and from the off, we were made to feel very welcome indeed by Claire &Ian. The family room was just right for the 3 of us, very clean and tidy and the breakfast was great:) Claire &Ian recommended lots of restaurants and attractions on the island, and we thoroughly enjoyed those days out - Thank you. We would highly recommend staying at The Braemar and will definitely stay here again:)

Reviewer:Mark B | Fri 25th Oct 2019 | 1 month ago


Excellent value, very clean and tidy, great proprietors and very good breakfasts- Rating 5/5

A great traditional seaside B and B. Perfect location for the old and new towns of Shanklin with a wide variety of shops,pubs and restaurants very close by. Short walk to the beach or cliff top.The Proprietors, Ian and Claire were extremely friendly and helpful with a good choice of filling hot or cold breakfasts.Very enjoyable stay. would visit again

Reviewer:Mark S | Wed 16th Oct 2019 | 1 month ago


Braemar visit - Rating 4/5

Excellent accom. Bed in need of upgrade all else super and breakfast quite superb!!Paul

Reviewer:Paul S | Mon 14th Oct 2019 | 1 month ago


Shanklin theater trip- Rating 4/5

Had a lovely stay here ...its a great location to the owners were really lovely and very happy to help ...chat and to do what they can room was very clean and comfortable and breakfast was good to ...definitely will use this bed and breakfast again

Reviewer:Samantha S | Sun 29th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


A delightful stay - Rating 4/5

Ron and myself had a delightful visit at your place.Your helpful suggestions made our stay good.We love to explore around a new area but this is a first for us without our own vehicle so we were challenged.I have to say the highlight for us on the Isle was Ventnor Botanical gardens and even though we were limited on where we could travel the gardens were the best choice for us. Everyone on the Isle is so friendly and helpful to tourists. A very enjoyable visit.

Reviewer:Margaret L | Sat 28th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Best B&B - Rating 5/5

Best B&B We’veever stopped at.

Reviewer:Roger H | Thu 26th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


A pleasant place to stay - Rating 5/5

everything was fine , no complaints

Reviewer:martin h | Tue 24th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Breamar - Rating 5/5

A really good place to stay ,very clean ,peace full ,i strongly recommend .

Reviewer:jose r | Mon 16th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Braemar - Rating 4/5

I had a very pleasant stay and would definitely come again.

Reviewer:Mr. Stephen P | Mon 16th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Excellent B&B - Rating 5/5

A warm welcome on arrival.Lovely comfortable room.Great recommendations on local eateries and the most delicious breakfast.Fabulous hosts, can highly recommended The Braemar.

Reviewer:Alison W | Sat 14th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


My week at the Braemar - Rating 5/5

I spent a very pleasant week at the Braemar.The hosts were very friendly, the room cleanand neat. The breakfast was excellent.

Reviewer:Helmut S | Fri 13th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


happy stay - Rating 4/5

excellent hotel.loved the balcony and parking facilities. Ian &claire excellent proprietors,friendly and helpful

Reviewer:Terry N | Thu 29th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Perfect stay - Rating 5/5

A great value hotel,hosts were very nice and helpful,breakfast was excellent and the hotel was very clean.All in all a perfect stayThank you

Reviewer:Stephen B | Thu 29th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Bed and breakfast- Rating 5/5

Lovely accommodation, good breakfast and very accommodating owners

Reviewer:Anastasia V | Wed 28th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Perfect for our mini break - Rating 5/5

We were made to feel extremely welcome and it was just perfect for our mini break to the Isle of Wight. Delicious breakfast, excellent location and warm, comfortable rooms.

Reviewer:Laura C | Thu 22nd Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Excellent value stay - Rating 5/5

I had the pleasure of staying here for 1 night on a recent short break to the IOW. The hosts were very welcoming and upon my arrival I was shown to my room, which was clean with modern furnishings. This B&B is in a great location and offers possibly the best value for money for a room in Shanklin!

Reviewer:Chris j | Sun 18th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


stay iow - Rating 4/5

just what we requiredwill come again thanks

Reviewer:ANN A | Mon 12th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Fabulous B&B near to everyting - Rating 5/5

Stayed here for one night, we had two rooms, a double and a twin, both rooms were light and airy, spotless and very comfortable. The owners were very welcoming and very friendly,we felt at home straight away, the breakfast was fantastic, freshly cooked and very tasty. The hotel is situated just off the main road through the old village in Shanklin, you can leave the car and walk to the beach, the chine and local pubs. If you are looking for somewhere to stay at a good price this is the place. Thank you Ian and Claire and Otis the dog for your hospitality. We will be back!!

Reviewer:Vicky R | Mon 5th Aug 2019 | 4 months ago


Great stay - Rating 4/5

The Braemar was a lovely spot. Claire was a great host and the rooms were really comfortable and nothing was too much trouble.

Reviewer:Caroline H | Sat 3rd Aug 2019 | 4 months ago


Great location- Rating 5/5

I stayed with my Grandfather and 5 year old son. The rooms were very comfortable and the hosts were very welcoming and knowledgeable of the area. It is a brilliant location in Shanklin near the old village, Shanklin chine and the beach. Lots of food options right on the door step and very easy public transport options. If we came again I would happily stay here again.

Reviewer:Cheryl P | Mon 29th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


The Braemar - Rating 5/5

welcoming and helpful

Reviewer:Victor H | Tue 23rd Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Kind and helpful hosts in a beautiful, central position - Rating 4/5

Not much to say! The location is lovely, there's a quick walk to the beach and our hosts were kind, attentive, accommodating and keen for a chat. Though the decor of the place was somewhat dated, I am unwilling to score the Braemar lower because of this as it was still a very pleasant stay for us. Thank you!

Reviewer:Heidi Q | Tue 23rd Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Good Bed and Breakfast in Shanklin - Rating 5/5

Only stopped here for one night but everything was brilliant. Good location in the centre of the Old Village. Lovely clean room and breakfast was excellent and varied to suit all needs

Reviewer:Stella C | Tue 23rd Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Excellent B & B - Rating 5/5

My husband and I stayed with 2 friends for 1 night at Braemar.We found the owners most welcoming and very helpful and friendly. The B &B was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was good. We would certainly recommend Braemar to our friends.

Reviewer:Margaret G | Mon 22nd Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Lovely couple - Rating 4/5

Although only there 3 nights was made very welcome by Clare and Ian.Our room very cosy and clean.Would return.Breakfast just what you required.

Reviewer:Yvonne B | Fri 19th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


The Braemar.- Rating 5/5

Great place to stay, right in the centre of Shanklin old village with plenty of places to eat nearby.Owners Claire &Boz were a lovely couple who couldn’t do enough for us. Excellent breakfast and friendly atmosphere. Good luck for the future.We hope to be back next year.

Reviewer:Jean M | Tue 16th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Loved it - Rating 5/5

I cone here every year. This year its a new landlord/lady. But u would think its the same owners. They welcomed me just as lovely as the past owner. They are very helpfull. And very caring. Iloved my stay. I will be back next year. The rooms are spotless. The breakfast are 1st class. Its like home from home. Thank you for making me welcome.

Reviewer:Susan H | Tue 16th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Great stay!- Rating 5/5

The welcome was nice, very clean rooms and bathrooms, amazing breakfast and very accommodating when we wanted to leave our luggage after check-out time.

Response

HI HendrikThanks for the review - glad you enjoyed your short break with us and glad the family celebrations went well !Best WishesClaire & Boz

Reviewer:Hendrik V | Mon 15th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Brilliant - Rating 5/5

Ian and Claire were genuinely helpful and friendly, you felt they were really interested in your welfare, not just going through the motions. Guest house was lovely and very convenient for transport and all the local facilities.

Response

HI RobertReally glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for taking the time to write the review.Would love to see you back with us if you fancy another short walk ! Best Wishes Claire & Boz

Reviewer:Robert C | Thu 11th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


clean and quiet hotel we would recommend - Rating 4/5

We enjoyed very much staying at Braemar. The location is very handy and closed to everything, but maintain its quietness.Claire and Ian are very friendly and helpful. And we like the kitchen prepared breakfast.The only concern we have is the reception of wifi which is hardly reachable in our room

Reviewer:Charles Yuwen C | Wed 10th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Must Try - Rating 5/5

Overall the hotel was great, minutes from shops, pubs, restaurant and beach not far. The owners Ian and Claire we are amazing, felt like home, rooms were nice but more importantly they were spotless. food great. Overall experience was excellent. would definitely go back there and stay for longer

Response

Thanks Adrian - it was a pleasure to meet you and hope to welcome you back soonBest WishesClaire & Boz

Reviewer:Mr. Adrian M | Wed 10th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Friendly Break - Rating 5/5

Very friendly hosts. Room 2 was a family room double bed plus bunk-beds, it was clean with tea/coffee making facilities. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice.Ideally situated in old Shanklin close to lovely restaurants and around 20 minute walk to the beach. Would highly recommend. Thank you for a lovely holiday.

Reviewer:MR WILLIAM T | Mon 8th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Stay at Braemar - Rating 4/5

Friendly, very clean and good value.

Reviewer:chris Y | Fri 28th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Brilliant hosts - Rating 5/5

First time on the Island and we will certainly be returning. Claire and Ian were fantastic hosts. The b&b was spotless. Excellent value for money too. Nothing was too much trouble.

Response

HI PaulaThanks for the review - so glad you enjoyed your stay and the festival !Would love to welcome you back to The Braemar in the near future.Can I be a bit cheeky and ask that you pop a review on Trip Advisor for us, as it\'s our first season it will help with future bookings.Thanks again and see you soonBest WishesClaire & Boz

Reviewer:Paula H | Tue 18th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


My Stay- Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodation &Excellent service

Response

HI ShaunThank you for the lovely review - it was a pleasure to have yourself and your colleagues to stay and I hope the weather didn\'t stop you doing the work you needed to !If you have 2 minutes, would you kindly pop a review on Trip Advisor for us - that would be really appreciated as it is our first season.Look forward to welcoming you back to The Braemar and safe travels.Best wishesIan & Claire

Reviewer:Shaun P | Thu 6th Jun 2019 | 6 months ago


Mehdi - Rating 5/5

Perfect I really enjoyed.

Response

Hi MehdiThank you for your review, especially as you arrived late and left so early !I hope we can welcome you back for a longer stay in the near future.If you have 2 minutes, would you mind popping a review on Trip Advisor for usMuch appreciated and hope to see you again soonIan & Claire

Reviewer:Mehdi M | Wed 5th Jun 2019 | 6 months ago


Short stay with grandchildren - Rating 5/5

Lovely hosts, super breakfast, lots of local info, we hope to be back.

Response

Thank you for the lovely comments Mike.It was a pleasure to meet you and your grandchildren were so polite.If you have a few minutes, would you be kind enough to write a review on Trip advisor for us.Thank you and hope we can help you in the future.Best wishesIan & Claire

Reviewer:Mike E | Fri 31st May 2019 | 6 months ago


Hampshire Cricket - Rating 4/5

Thank you for making my stay so enjoyable

Response

HI RogerThank you for your review - I am sorry I missed you when you left on ThursdayGlad you enjoyed your stay and the cricket and hope to welcome you back soon !Best wishesIan & Claire

Reviewer:Mr. Roger M | Fri 24th May 2019 | 6 months ago


Request for review - Rating 4/5

Friendly, helpful, and good breakfasts.

Reviewer:peter m | Tue 21st May 2019 | 6 months ago


Perfect stay- Rating 5/5

Cannot recommend The Braemer hotel enough. Greeted with a smile. Very clean and comfortable (a home from home).Choice of breakfast was very good and bery tasty. Hope to be back again soon.

Response

HI DeanThank you for the review and lovely comments.It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and hope you enjoyed the Ford Day when you left.Looking forward to welcoming you backBest WishesIan & Claire

Reviewer:Dean F | Mon 20th May 2019 | 6 months ago


Our stay at the braemar - Rating 4/5

Excellent location. Ian and Claire are lovely hosts. Breakfasts good too. Would stay there again.

Response

HI KarenThank you very much for your review.It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and I really hope you enjoyed your week.Can I be a little bit cheeky and ask you to pop a review on Trip Advisor for us ?Would love to welcome you back to The Braemar in the near futureBest WishesIan & Claire

Reviewer:Karen G | Mon 20th May 2019 | 6 months ago


Super Hosts - Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel, clean, comfortable and very welcoming hosts. Super location and easy on site parking.The bar is currently closed but was told they are looking to re-open it soon (after removing the bars thatched roof which I remember from the early 80’s!!).Would highly recommend and we will definitely be returning.

Response

Hi BarryThank you for the review and lovely comments.It was really interesting to hear what has changed and hasn\'t since you were here last.Hope we can welcome you back soonBest WishesIan & Claire

Reviewer:Barry H | Sun 19th May 2019 | 6 months ago


Mr david jerome - Rating 5/5

Good place had hold bed room to me shelf good shower room good place for hoilday if on own distable person like me pay by debit card every day have debit card machine the first night ring door bell let you in when give you key have room in hotel

Response

HI DavidThank you for the review - it was lovely to have you stay with us and to see the lovely photo\'s you took on your days out.Looking forward to you coming back to see us soonKind regardsIan & Claire

Reviewer:Rachael S | Sat 18th May 2019 | 6 months ago


Excellent service - Rating 5/5

Thank you for making us feel so welcome even tho it was only for one night, accomdation lovely clean couldnt fault it.Thank you for making recommendation and reservationfor evening meal Pendletons food fantastic. Thank you for packed lunch you made us as we had to leave early and no time for breakfast.Would happily recommend you.Thank you once.Maria

Response

HI MariaThank you for the lovely review - it was a pleasure to have you to stay with us and help to make the Overtones experience special.We would love to welcome you back to The Braemar in future.Best wishesIan & Claire

Reviewer:Maria D | Mon 6th May 2019 | 7 months ago


The Braemar Shanklin - Rating 5/5

The owner Claire was very welcoming and made me feel at home.She and here husband have run the B&B since December. The room was clean and airy. Breakfast was good with a good selection of fruit, cereal, and cooked items. I will certainly make a point of staying there again should I be in Shanklin. Thank you for a very pleasant stay.

Response

Hi GrahameThank you for the lovely review - it was a pleasure to host you for your walking weekend and would love to welcome you back in the futureBest wishesIan & Claire

Reviewer:Graham S | Mon 1st Apr 2019 | 8 months ago


Wonderfully warm welcome- Rating 4/5

Communication pre-arrival was excellent meaning my dog and I were warmly welcomed to this traditional B&B in the picturesque Old Town. My dietary needs were perfectly catered for and the dog had his own towels and vreakfast. Perfect.

Response

HI KateThank you for your review - it was a pleasure to have yourself and Bradley to stay - we hope we can welcome you back in the futureBest wishesIan & Claire

Reviewer:Kate B | Mon 1st Apr 2019 | 8 months ago


Loverly hosts - Rating 4/5

Great hosts and great location for Shanklin old village

Response

HI MalcThank you for your review - it was lovely to meet you and your wife and of course, Mayo !Hope to see you again in the futureBest wishesIan & Claire

Reviewer:malc r | Sun 24th Mar 2019 | 8 months ago


Lovely experience - Rating 5/5

On arrival we were greeted by our hosts and lovely they were too especially making a fuss of our terrier.We were shown up to our room and very nice it was too.Plenty of room and access to the balcony - lovely on the sunny days.Breakfast is included and lovely.All you can want to eat.Braemar is in Old Shanklin and very near to lovely walks to the beach or country.I would highly recommend this Guest House.

Response

HI Chris - Thanks for the review and recommendation, it was lovely to meet you, Steve and Sydney ! Hope to see you again soon, Ian & Claire

Reviewer:Christine H | Thu 28th Feb 2019 | 9 months ago


Two night stop over - Rating 4/5

Very nice friendly,cheerful and helpful new owners.Good price for what's on offer and all the best as the new owners update the hotel.Star rating on what I got for my money.

Reviewer:C R | Sun 10th Feb 2019 | 9 months ago


Relaxing- Rating 4/5

Very nice friendly,cheerful and helpful new owners.Good price for what's on offer and all the best as the new owners update the hotel.Star rating on what I got for my money.

Response

glad you enjoyed your stay, I hope your camper gets sorted correctly

Reviewer:C R | Fri 8th Feb 2019 | 9 months ago


Beer & Buses Weekend - Rating 5/5

Another peaceful, comfortable visit - thank you.

Reviewer:Dave C | Wed 17th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Bus beer and walk weekend - Rating 5/5

On behalf of our group of friends I would like to say thank you for a very enjoyable weekend we were well looked after, thank you.

Reviewer:Barbara R | Wed 17th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Value for money - Rating 4/5

The hotel was value for money and ideally located near the high street and bus stop for Ventnor

Reviewer:Kirk B | Wed 10th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Braemar saves mature couple from rainiest week-end in 2018! - Rating 4/5

Yes it was raining when we got there, all the time we were there and up to the time we left . . . but we were greeted well, found the accommodation adequate and were delighted to make full use of the pool table in the lounge area.The breakfast was excellent and substantial as well as setting us up for the day.

Reviewer:Chris S | Mon 24th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Weekend break - Rating 5/5

Lovely people, great place to stay right in the centre of Shanklin.Everything was in easy walking distance and the dog was happy too.It was great to be able to walk out on to the balcony.Breakfast was delicious and The Braemar was lovely and clean.Great value for money.

Reviewer:Sandra V | Tue 11th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Another lovely stay - Rating 4/5

This is the second time we have stayed at The Braemar. Mary and Kelly are lovely hosts who make you feel very welcome. They are dog friendly which is great as we have a small dog and he had a sausage treat at breakfast. The breakfast is good quality and Mary is very accommodating. The rooms are basic but clean with a television and with tea and coffee making facilities. A great location in the Old Village.

Reviewer:Mrs. Amanda D | Thu 23rd Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Three day break - Rating 5/5

I had a lovely stay my room was clean and comfortable breakfast was good My hosts Danny&Mary where charming &made me very welcome very good value highly recommend

Reviewer:John C | Sun 22nd Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Nice hotel, well situated for local attractions - Rating 5/5

Good hotel, room was good, breakfast also good. Well located in Shanklin for local attractions, in a pleasant spot within easy walking distance of the town, Chine and Front.

Reviewer:Paul G | Sat 21st Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Friendly hotel. - Rating 4/5

Friendly &helpful. The hotel had every thing I wanted and needed. The breakfast is fantastic. One little negative is, the shower is under powered. Above all, excellent value for money. I will visit again, Thank you.

Reviewer:Terry F | Tue 12th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Fantastic stay at the Braemar Hotel - Rating 5/5

Both ourselves and our little dogs had a very wa welcome when we arrived, right through our stay. The owners are very warm and friendly, so very accommodating, that nothing was too much trouble.The room and ensuite was decorated in lovely colours and was spotless, the beds were comfy and there was hot drink facilities in the room.We couldn’t take our dogs into the dining room but we’re ae to take them elsewhere in the hotel and could of been left safe in the bedroom though we didn’t do this.Breakfast was a good selection of hot and cold choices bought to the table (2 course), with help yourself toast and plenty of tea or coffee to set your day offHotel is in s prime location, walking distance to the shops, parks, beaches etc but tucked away that you don’t hear any huss and bustle.If you have dogs there’s some lovely walks around by the hotel and Shanklin there’s plenty to do.I highly recommend this hotel - 5 stars fromUs!

Reviewer:Ann-Marie E | Thu 10th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Many thanks - Rating 5/5

Thank you for a very enjoyable stay in a great location for Old Shanklin. Lovely and well cooked breakfasts.

Reviewer:Michael B | Mon 16th Oct 2017 | 2 years ago


Short Visit - Rating 4/5

One night stay visiting relatives, comfortable surroundings with a very short walk into Shanklin.Breakfast was good.My only comment was there was a lack of flow from the shower head, furred up/blocked;lady informed?

Reviewer:Ray P | Fri 22nd Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


Freindly - Rating 3/5

Clean and tidy nice breakfast menu plenty to chooseNice owners would stay again

Reviewer:Suzette D | Sat 26th Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


VERY NICE, CLEAN AND GOOD LOCATION - Rating 5/5

I would say that this hotel is very nice, clean, and homely. My family enjoyed our 5nights stay in Braemar Hotel. The breakfast is a good portion and you can have both cereals and full english breakfast at the same time. The hotel is in a good location very accessible to shops and bus stop. This hotel is 10 mins walk to the ShanklinBeach. The service is excellent

Reviewer:Aimee G | Sun 6th Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


lovely b+b - Rating 5/5

The Braemar is a great family fun traditional b+b,the owners was very friendly and i was suprised to find that my room had a very large balcony outside to sit on instead of just being in my bedroom, the breakfast you picked off a mini menu the day before so you got exactly what you wanted,i had tea, toast and a full English and it was delicious,a short walk to the shops even closer to a couple of pubs that do great mealsNext time that im in Shanklin i will be sure to rebook as it was good value for money

Reviewer:Peter S | Fri 9th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Lovely Braemar Hotel - Rating 5/5

The hotel is a small charming hotel on a quiet road in a nice part of Shanklin. The room was modestly furnished but very good I coild not fault the cleanlines and neatness of my room. The owners are very nice with a warm welcome and clear information. The breakfast was great I had the kippers good really lovely but the other food passing by looked great especially the full English although the haddock and poached egg looked really great to. If I am back in Shanklin again I will definately be staying at that hotel again. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Reviewer:Philip P | Thu 8th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Nice stay - Rating 5/5

I was welcomed at the breamar with a nice warm greeting and I must say what is nice place it was to stay nice and clean the food was excellent and numerous choices I would definitely go back in future and strongly recommend it to my friends and family thanks breamar

Reviewer:John J | Thu 8th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Nice holiday - Rating 4/5

Lovely time at Bramare , excellent breakfast and good nights sleep. Mary and Kelly great hosts

Reviewer:MrsB | Sat 8th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Christmas at the Braemar - Rating 5/5

I stayed for three nights over Christmas.My room was always well heated when I got back in and I slept really well.Everything you needed and a warm welcome.

Reviewer:Mrs. Della R | Wed 28th Dec 2016 | 2 years ago


Great hospitality- Rating 5/5

Lovely hosts. Lovely breakfast.Great location.

Reviewer:Dreya C | Fri 16th Dec 2016 | 2 years ago


Hotel - Rating 5/5

Breakfast. Was lovely room clean tidy host was chatty and polite and approachable

Reviewer:Lynda T | Mon 26th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Quite and Restfull - Rating 4/5

We had a lovely stay, Mary, Kelly and Toby were great hosts. We enjoyed the breakfasts and were so grateful for the Packed lunch you gave us, we ate in a lay by near Dorchester. We had a long trip to Devon and since been to Cornwall and now just outside London to meet our family tomorrow. Many thanks and please give Toby a pat from us. Marlene &Trevor

Reviewer:Marlene B | Wed 14th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Well positioned and friendly. - Rating 4/5

Nice and friendly people and a pleasant location to stay

Reviewer:Jan A | Mon 12th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


lovely stay - Rating 4/5

Beautifulstay in isle of white . The Braemar is perfect location in shanklin village.Clean rooms .towels repaced daily. Plenty of Tea and coffee available in room. Nice breakfast. Pet friendly . Would definitely consider staying again if visiting isle of white.

Reviewer:Sadie H | Fri 9th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


overnight stay - Rating 4/5

The people working at the hotel were very friendly. Good value for money, especially with the breakfast included. Comfortable bed and good location

Reviewer:Sinead R | Fri 2nd Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Cosy and welcoming guesthouse - Rating 4/5

We could bring our suitcases already in the morning and felt at home in a nice and cosy room. The breakfast is delicious and we really enjoyed the fresh grapefruits and the kippers! The owners of the house are very welcoming and friendly.

Reviewer:Joachim K | Fri 26th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


very nice - Rating 5/5

friendly staff, delicious breakfast, great location

Reviewer:Suinan L | Wed 24th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


A lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Having spent 5 nights in this lovely , friendly hotel , with wonderful hosts , and excelent breakfast , I,would highly recommenda stay herewhilst in the I o w .

Reviewer:Mr. Adrian F | Mon 15th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Family vacation- Rating 5/5

Fantastic place to stay.clean and well kept. Food is great. The dog felt right at home Mary and Kelly are a wonderful couple. We will be making this our priority home when visiting the island to visit our cousin.

Reviewer:Rosemary G | Sat 6th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Wonderfull- Rating 5/5

Thank you for having me to stay at your b&b. As always i had a fantastic time. Cant wait to see you both again. I loved my room. Thank you again. I will miss my breakfast from you. Take care much love xxxxx

Reviewer:Susan H | Wed 3rd Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Nice Clean B and B - Rating 4/5

The B and B is very efficient with a nice sized single room. The breakfast is excellent nicely presented and lots of it. Only little gripe in my room on the ground floor the free wi-fi was very poor. The hosts were really friendly and kindly let me keep my bag there on my last day until the evening.

Reviewer:Anthony L | Sun 31st Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

One of the best b+b's that I have stayed at. Clean. quiet, good food and good location. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:MichaelJ | Fri 29th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


lovely comfortable stay - Rating 5/5

Delicious breakfast, comfy clean room and wonderful friendly hosts. We had a really enjoyable stay and would come back anytime.Thank you Braemar!

Reviewer:MichalleM | Fri 22nd Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Good value. - Rating 4/5

Very friendly welcome. Room fine and breakfast very good. Excellent value for money. Really good location for Shanklin old town.

Reviewer:Christabelle J | Thu 21st Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Nice place, great location - Rating 5/5

We only stayed one night but will definitely be back. The owners Kelly and his wife(Mary I think) were very accommodating indeed and do all that they can to make your stay a pleasant one. Many thanks to you both. Less than a minutes walk to the old Town of Shanklin the location is fantastic too.

Reviewer:LEE H | Mon 11th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Clean room/good breakfast - Rating 4/5

Clean room/good breakfast

Reviewer:B.P. V | Mon 4th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Happy time - Rating 4/5

Great location, clean, neat, and cosy.Priced reasonable.The stars of the Braemar are the proprietors, Mary &Kelly Sherfield. They are the icing on the cake.

Reviewer:Victor R | Sun 19th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


B&B in the very heart of Shanklin - Rating 4/5

Charming B&B in a prime location, right in the heart of thriving Shankling and within a stone's throw of restaurants and the theatre. About 20 mins walk to the cliffs &beach.Lovely house too, accommodation is basic but super-clean and a very tasty breakfast was served. A friendly welcome, free parking &wifi and reasonably prices. What more can you ask for?

Reviewer:Ms. Andrea J | Thu 16th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


David and Angela Ward - Rating 4/5

Very friendly and clean.Breakfast was lovely.Shower could have been a little stronger.

Reviewer:Angela W | Mon 13th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


Good choice! - Rating 4/5

Excellent value for money. Easy to get around the island, Good breakfasts!

Reviewer:John W | Sun 5th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


Braemar ticks all the Boxes - Rating 5/5

Happy to give Braemar 5 stars.Excellent value for money, friendly welcome, spacious room and wide menu choice for breakfast. Stone's throw from wide selection of evenong meal optionsPleased central heating was on(in June) after we got soakedRob

Reviewer:Rob F | Sat 4th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


Braemer Trip - Rating 4/5

Friendly hosts,nice food. Enjoyable stay.

Reviewer:Ian C | Fri 3rd Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


great stay in shanklin - Rating 5/5

thanks for a great break away hospitality and b&b second to none will be staying again

Reviewer:Mr. Richard N | Tue 31st May 2016 | 3 years ago


Last Minute Stop Over - Rating 5/5

This was a last minute stop over and finding a hotel for £34.00 per night including breakfast fro each of the two rooms was ideal. Clean and tidy, great breakfast and very friendly. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Mike H | Sat 7th May 2016 | 3 years ago


Short stay but very satisfied - Rating 3/5

One night only, but room was quiet and comfortable, clean and convenient. Staff were helpful and pleasant, and breakfast was good

Reviewer:Linda B | Tue 3rd May 2016 | 3 years ago


Friendly Hotel - Rating 4/5

Only stayed one night but enjoyed our stay. Lovely breakfast.

Reviewer:MJ B | Sun 1st May 2016 | 3 years ago


Super service again - Rating 4/5

Always made very welcome. Spotless rooms. great breakfasts.Perfect for the odd visit from the mainland to Shanklin Theatre, or central to the best part of the Island

Reviewer:Mr. Tony P | Fri 1st Apr 2016 | 3 years ago


characterful little hotel - Rating 5/5

..friendly staff, very clean and cheap little hotel in the heart of Shanklin just a short walk from the coast. You will get all what you want, it´s not all shiny new, but in great shape and good working order, I did like the stay very much, will come again..

Reviewer:Tilman B | Fri 5th Feb 2016 | 3 years ago


Christmas- Rating 4/5

We were made to feel very welcome. Bedroom and bedding clean. Breakfast very good. Our room was in need of a bit of talc

Reviewer:Valerie L | Tue 29th Dec 2015 | 3 years ago


Made to feel right at home! - Rating 4/5

I have been coming to the Isle of Wight since I was a child and this is by far one of the friendliest hotels I have stayed in. Lovely Breakfast, friendly staff, ample parking. 100% would be staying again!

Reviewer:Lucy H | Wed 23rd Dec 2015 | 3 years ago


BRILLIANT! - Rating 5/5

Great place, great location, and the 2 nicest proprietors (Kelly and Mary) I have ever met! Highly recommended

Reviewer:Sherri P | Sat 12th Dec 2015 | 3 years ago


holiday stay - Rating 5/5

Very warm welcome and was helped greatly by the owners.excellent breakfasts.well situated for walking around shanklin and for travelling around the island .would recommend

Reviewer:Neil P | Tue 15th Sep 2015 | 4 years ago


well worth the money! - Rating 4/5

This was my third stay and as per usual it was a pleasure! Couldn't ask for more friendly and helpful owners! For the price per night you couldn't ask for any more! Breakfast was plentiful and full of choice! Would stay here again!

Reviewer:Mr. Dave S | Wed 2nd Sep 2015 | 4 years ago


Stay 08/08 - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely stay 08/08 - very welcoming and friendly with a good breakfast in the morning. Very kindly looked after our mackerel for us after our fishing trip - thanks to you they got home safely and we are still enjoying the fruits of our trip!!! Would highly recommend staying here - thank you so much xx

Reviewer:Ms. Louise A | Sun 23rd Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

Very clean room, nice bed, lovely breakfast, friendly and welcoming owners and all for a good price

Reviewer:Richard W | Mon 22nd Jun 2015 | 4 years ago


enjoy - Rating 5/5

1st class ,lovely breakfast, wonderfully couple enjoy my stay x

Reviewer:Mark C | Wed 17th Jun 2015 | 4 years ago


Enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely traditional cosy b&b, Mary and Kelly made us very welcome, and our stay very enjoyable. Room was adequate and breakfast outstanding. Would definitely return and recommend.

Reviewer:Linda G | Tue 9th Jun 2015 | 4 years ago


25/5/15 - Rating 5/5

Friendly atmosphere. Good breakfast. Good price.

Reviewer:Dennis H | Wed 27th May 2015 | 4 years ago


Welcome Back - Rating 5/5

Although I only stayed overnight this trip, the owners were still pleased to see me?The Braemar, is a quiet side street B&B, in Shanklin and close to all ameanities. There are no complaints from me , for this friendly Home from Home. I will return later on in the year, for a longer stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Thomas L | Mon 13th Apr 2015 | 4 years ago


Visiting family in Shanklin - Rating 5/5

Excellent location, clean, comfortable with a great breakfast.

Reviewer:Ian F | Sat 11th Apr 2015 | 4 years ago


good - Rating 5/5

Very nice couple very helpful would stayagain

Reviewer:Terry K | Sun 11th Jan 2015 | 4 years ago


a great place to stay- Rating 5/5

this hotel is well located just off the old village, the owners were very nice and helpful, they tried to be as accomerdating for all guests, the breakfast menu was quite wide and service was very quick, the bed rooms were comfortable not posh but had all you needed with ensweet , tv, tea and coffee making, I had one real problem that was not the fort of the hotel but soon learnt my lesson on the first two nights I parked my car in the carpark under trees the car was coverd with bird extrament that was differcult to remove as i am sure it must have been from rusting seagulls, not even the local car wash could move it off so repersisioned the car from then on. As I say food was very good, Owners of hotel was very good and helpful to all, and well situated for old village and for walkers not too far from good walks and the beach.

Reviewer:Ian M | Sat 3rd Jan 2015 | 4 years ago


great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Warm freindly hotel, near the centre of town and only a short walk from the beach. Lovely hosts.

Reviewer:Roderick S | Fri 28th Nov 2014 | 5 years ago


Nice, clean and friendley - Rating 5/5

Great location, friendley atmosphere, nice breakfast, clean and cofortable, good price! We Will come again. Larsson from Sweden

Reviewer:Björn L | Wed 24th Sep 2014 | 5 years ago


Nice break- Rating 4/5

Owners lovely and friendly, new kitten great entertainment! Room nice but shower head leaked so hard to wash hair easily. Drop of WD40 on door hinges would make it quieter for other guests. Breakfast choice and cooking great. Wi-fi poor upstairs but fine in hall! Nice relaxing break.

Reviewer:Grace J | Sun 17th Aug 2014 | 5 years ago


lovely place - Rating 5/5

Lovely place, great staff, nice rooms, good bed, good location... Loved our stay

Reviewer:Darren L | Wed 30th Jul 2014 | 5 years ago


Great stay- Rating 5/5

Great stay, great breakfast. Thanks

Reviewer:Dean H | Sun 18th May 2014 | 5 years ago


Easter weekend- Rating 5/5

Fabulous hotel idealy located near old shanklin town close to restaurants pubs and shops. Hosts were very welcoming and the breakfast choice great fresh and tasty. Rooms are spacious and clean and a terrace around the upstairs bedrooms was a great addition.

Reviewer:Denise H | Tue 22nd Apr 2014 | 5 years ago


Our stay- Rating 3/5

Friendly owners, very nice breakfast!Clean but dated decor.Would return!Thanks

Reviewer:Mrs. Nina A | Mon 4th Nov 2013 | 6 years ago


Relaxing 3 days - Rating 4/5

The hotel is situated in the heart of Shanklin Old Village, not so near that you get disturbed by traffic. The couple Mary &Kelly that run the hotel are lovely people, cant do enough to make your tay a pleasurable one. the room we had was a family room with double bed had a nice balcony overlooking Grange Road which was very nice place to relax on. We were on a bed and breakfast break, the breakfast was to die for it was lovely, I had full english every morning cooked to perfection, there was bre4ad for toast and you had a form which you fill in with your preferences for breakfast which made it very easy for Mary and Kelly. Overall a vey enjoyable stay at a reasonable price.

Reviewer:Mr. David S | Fri 30th Aug 2013 | 6 years ago


great holiday - Rating 4/5

spent 3 nights here and really enjoyed it veryfriendly couple who run the place. comfortable room with a balcony .breakfast ordered night before was not a problem as it helped everyone. it was nice to be able to park on site and leave the car to go exploring the island .

Reviewer:Mrs. Helen D | Sun 25th Aug 2013 | 6 years ago


First Class - Rating 5/5

What a lovley time we had with Kelly and Mary, celebrating Kelly's birthday in the bar and enjoying the family atmosphere that both Kelly and Mary provided.We will be back again and may even bring more of our family to soak up the warmth and hospitality freely given at the Braemar.

Reviewer:Mr. Leslie D | Sat 24th Aug 2013 | 6 years ago


relaxing and pleasurable - Rating 5/5

Kelly and Mary are excellent hosts. From the moment we got to the Braemar we were welcomed by Kelly who spoke to us like we were all friends. He showed us to our room which was very nice. The room was big enough and with adequate facillities for our stay. It over looked the carparkwhich was important to us as we had travelled bymotorbike. Theowners were understanding as they were bikers themselves at some time. The couple made us feel very welcome and their hospitality was shared amongst the other guests. The breakfast was cooked to our liking and made upon our arrival at the breakfast room (not keptwarm under heaters). The location of the hotel is good as eateries and pubs are close by. We wolud definitely reccommend this hotel and hope to go back in the future.

Reviewer:Mr. Fred H | Wed 14th Aug 2013 | 6 years ago


our recent stay - Rating 5/5

We were very satisfied with the accommodation andwe would recommendThe Braemar to our friendsand family if they are looking for a good place to stayon the Isle of Wight.

Reviewer:Mrs. Gail Todd T | Wed 24th Jul 2013 | 6 years ago


bed and breakfast - Rating 4/5

Very pleasant stay, very good breakfast, nice landlady

Reviewer:Ms. Valerie M | Tue 2nd Apr 2013 | 6 years ago


Work on the IOW - Rating 5/5

This is a good place to stay, a friendly welcome, really clean and friendly. An excelent spot for old town Shanklin plus of course the whole of the Island. Breakfast, well far to much for me A +++++

Reviewer:Mr. Paul P | Mon 25th Feb 2013 | 6 years ago


exellent - Rating 5/5

perfect stay, perfect hospitality.

Reviewer:Mr. Matthew F | Thu 11th Oct 2012 | 7 years ago